Apply for a Texas License

Students (accompanied by a parent or legal guardian) must make an appointment at their nearest Texas DPS location. In order obtain a Texas Driver’s License, the student will need to successfully complete a road test at the DPS.

The following must be brought to the DPS appointment:

• The certificate of completion from Texas Driving School

• The certificate of completion from Impact Texas Teen Drivers program

• All completed forms from the PTDE packet • For Texas Online Drivers Ed students:

• Certificate(s) of completed behind-the-wheel training (44 hours) from a certified instructor.

• 7 Hours of in-car observation

• 7 Hours of in-car instruction

• 30 Hours of in-car practice For PTDE Students:

• All completed forms from the PTDE packet (only applies for Parent-Taught course students)

Identifying documents:

• Proof of Identification

• Proof of Social Security Number

• Proof of US Citizenship

• Proof of Texas Residency

• A Verification of Enrollment and Attendance form to verify school enrollment (or a high school diploma or GED).

• Proof of Texas vehicle registration and proof of financial responsibility for vehicle owner or a statement that the student does not own a vehicle.

Those under 18 are issued what is known in Texas as a Provisional License, which expires on the driver’s 18th birthday. These licenses have a vertical orientation and are marked “provisional.” If you have any questions about the course, you may contact our live 24/7 customer support. We’re happy to help you through the process of earning your Texas Driver’s License.

● Courses are total of 32 hours, as required by Texas state law.

● The student may begin a course at 14 years of age, but must be 15 years of age to apply for a Learner’s Permit.

● Each course has a total of twelve modules, each with an end-of-module quiz. Students have an unlimited number of attempts at passing these quizzes. A passing score is 70% or higher.

● The student must pass a 20-question final exam with a score of 70% or higher.

● The student must complete 44 hours of behind-the-wheel training, 10 of which are at night, in order to earn a Driver’s License. The Parent-Taught course is designed so the student’s parent/legal guardian will act as the behind-the-wheel instructor. The Texas Online Driver Education course only covers in class training and leaves the option open as to whether a parent/legal guardian or a certified instructor oversees the behind-the-wheel training.

● Once the first module of either course has been completed, the student may apply for a Texas Learner’s Permit.

● Once the first module of either course has been completed, the student may apply for a Texas Learner’s Permit.